Renault A442B - Le Mans 1978 Winner

Renault A442B - Le Mans 1978 Winner

'la troisieme sera la bonne' Renault A442B. Didier Pironi & Jean-Pierre Jaussaud. 10-11th June 1978 - Le Mans After a huge development plan starting in 1975, the rapid but unreliable A442 finally won Le Mans at the third attempt, with Didier Pironi & Jean-Pierre Jaussaud at the wheel. The A442 project was a joint venture between Alpine and Renault, with Renault buying Alpine outright in 1976. Despite years of mechanical failures, Renault brought a strong 3-vehicle line up to the 1978 Le Mans, featuring the A442, A442B and latest A443 model. Although quickest, the A443 retired - leaving the Pironi/Jaussaud car to inherit the lead and win the race ahead of their strong Porsche 936 rivals. The vehicle was very quick but also very skittish to drive, leaving Pironi too exhausted to climb up to the podium, where Jaussaud took the trophy alone.

  • Artist
  • Comments

Creative Combined

Motorsport Artwork from Automotive Designer; Pete Clarke. Artwork created using mixed techniques including pencil sketch, marker, oil and finished digitally in Photoshop.

    There are currently no comments. Be first and write the comment.

Support Draw to Drive

Dear friends,

when we started this journey, our only goal was to build a small community of octane art lovers. Your passion made Draw to Drive community grow beyond our expectations. As you probably know Draw to Drive is a project developed, maintained and financed by team of three co-founders. With the constant growth of the community, our operating costs grew as well, together with the time needed for maintaining the current platform. Next to that, new features had to take a back seat.

We came to a point when we have to ask for your support to develop new features and keep the platform running. We have enabled a donate functionality so, if you want, you can now support us financially to build a better platform and attract more automotive enthusiasts to our community. Any amount is greatly appreciated.

Tomislav Palatinuš